The Red List of Trains in Japan

JR Kyushu 817 series

Data (as of 6 Jul 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 2001-15
Number built: 145
Registered: 145


The 817 series is a type of suburban train. It was introduced when Chikuho Main and Sasaguri Lines were electrified, and named Fukuhoku Yutaka Line. More units were delivered to Nagasaki Main and Sasebo Lines to replace 415 series and 457, 475 series and 717 series. Almost of all units can be operated without a conductor.

The body design, traction, motors and baking systems are based on those of 815 series. Two-carriage units have transverse seating, while three-car units have longitudinal one. The 817 series can be formed of up to nine coaches with 811 series and 813 series. They can also be coupled with the 815 series, BEC819 series and 821 series.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

The 817 series is used on the entire network. Considerable number of units are allocated to Kagoshima, Kumamoto, Minami-Fukuoka and Nogata. Many of those in Nagasaki area were reallocated to other areas including Kagoshima when Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen was opened in 2022.

(Updated: 6 Jul 2024)

←The List of JR Trains