The Red List of Trains in Japan

JR Kyushu 813 series

Data (as of 6 Jul 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 1994-2009
Number built: 254
Registered: 246


The 813 series is a type of suburban train. JR Kyushu has been successful in introducing 811 series so that the company decided to introduce more new trains to less crowded areas. There were two and three-carriage units, but all of them are now formed of three coaches. They can form up to nine coaches with the 811, 817 series and 821 series. There are several variants, and each of them looks slightly different.

They were initially introduced to Kagoshima Main Line, but soon extended to other lines as well. By the late-1990s, most stopping services in Kitakyushu and Fukuoka areas were provided by the 811 and 813 series. They were also used in Kumamoto area and on Nagasaki Main and Sasebo Lines, but superseded by the 815 and 817 series.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

The 813 series is the most common type on stopping services across the network in Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto and Oita Prefectures, such as Chikuho Main and Sasaguri Lines (also known as Fukuhoku Yutaka Line), Kagoshima Main, Nagasaki Main and Nippo Main Lines. Some services are driver-only operation.

JR Kyushu has been removing some seats to allow more passengers to get on trains, a mesuare that is highly unpopular among commuters and students.


Those allocated to Fukuhoku Yutaka Line are painted black.

Those introduced after 2007 have a large destination display and thus their front end looks different.

(Updated: 6 Jul 2024)

←The List of JR Trains