The Red List of Trains in Japan

JR West 227 series

The 227 series in Nara and Wakayama areas.

Data (as of 6 Jul 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 2014-
Number built: 418
Registered: 418


The 227 series is a type of suburban train, based on 225 series. In the mid-2010s, there were considerable number of trains introduced by Japanese National Railways, many of which were 40 years old or even more. The company had been reluctant to modernise the services outside Osaka and surrounding areas, but concluded at last that replacing them was inevitable to enhance safety and reduce costs.

The 227 series was first introduced to Hiroshima area, replacing 103 series, 105 series, 113 series and 115 series. The 227 series in Hiroshima (variant 0) are painted red and named Red Wing. Two and three-carriage units were delivered to the area in 2014-19, being the first "brand new" trains in more than 32 years. They can be formed of up to eight coaches.

In 2018-20, 34 two-car units of the 227 series (variant 1000) were introduced to rural lines in Nara and Wakayama Prefectures, replacing the 105 series and 117 series. Unlike the variant 0 in Hiroshima, the variant 1000 is compatible with driver-only operation. Fleets of this group have longitudinal seating only despite being classified as a suburban train.

Since 2023, variant 500 has been introduced to Okayama area, replacing old trains including the 117 series. This variant is painted pink, and it is also called Urara, a Japanese word describing a clear, warm and comfortable day.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

The variant 0 is used for the almost of all electrified network in Hiroshima area, i.e. Kabe, Kure Lines and San-yo Main Line between Fukuyama and Shin-Yamaguchi.

The variant 500 (Urara) is used for Hakubi Line between Okayama and Soja, Honshi-Bisan Line as far as Kojima, San-yo Main Line between Okayama and Mihara, Uno Line. JR West plans to gradually extend its operation and introduce 101 carriages in total by March 2025.

The variant 1000 is used on Kisei Main Line (also known as Kinokuni Line) between Wakayama and Shingu, Sakurai Line (also known as Manyo Mahoroba Line) and Wakayama Line.

(Updated: 6 Jul 2024)

←The List of JR Trains