The Red List of Trains in Japan

JR Kyushu 885 series

Data (as of 6 Jul 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 2000-04
Number built: 69
Registered: 66


The 885 series is a type of limited express train, initially introduced to Limited Express Kamome (Hakata - Nagasaki). The 885 series has a tilting feature to allow running faster than other trains at tight curves, and has better aceleration than 883 series. Accommodation is similar to ICE3 in Germany, though that of the 885 series looks a little cheaper. The 885 series is a part of Hitachi A-train family along with Class 80x in Great Britain.

Six-carriage units were introduced to Limited Express Kamome, while five-car units were introduced to Sonic (Hakata - Oita). JR Kyushu later inserted an intermediate carriage to Sonic units, and now all trainsets are formed of six coaches. When Nishi Kyushu Shinkansen high-speed rail was opened in 2022, the services privided by the 885 series were rearranged and shortened as described below.

TEMU 1000 of Taiwan Railways Administration is based on the 885 series.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

The 885 series trains are used for Limited Express Kasasagi (Hakata - Hizen-Kashima), Relay Kamome (Hakata - Takeo-onsen), Midori (Nagasaki - Sasebo) and Sonic (Hakata - Oita). Some Kasasagi services are extended to as far as Moji.

(Updated: 6 Jul 2024)

←The List of JR Trains