The Red List of Trains in Japan

JR East E751 series

Data (as of 6 Jul 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 1999-2000
Number built: 18
Registered: 12


The E751 series trains were introduced to Limited Express Super Hatsukari (Morioka - Hakodate via Aomori), replacing 485 series. The E751 series are based on E653 series, but compatible only with AC 20 kV (50Hz) electricity.

There were three six-carriage units, but they were shortened to four when Tohoku Shinkansen was extended again to Shin-Aomori. Redundant intermediate carriages were scrapped in 2015.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

Three four-car units of the E751 series are used for Limited Express Tsugaru and Super Tsugaru (both Akita - Aomori). The maximum speed of the E751 series is 130 km/h (81 mph), and they ran at that speed until 2002, but now they run at up to merely 95 km/h (59 mph).

(Updated: 6 Jul 2024)

←The List of JR Trains