The Red List of Trains in Japan

JR East E127 series

The E127 series on Nambu Line

Data (as of 31 Mar 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 1995-98
Number built: 50
Registered: 48


The E127 series is a type of commuter train for rural lines, with each unit forming two coaches. 13 units of the series (variant 0) was initially introduced to Niigata area, to replace old trains (165 series, built in 1963-70) and ease congestion. It can also be operated without a conductor. When Hokuriku Shinkansen (high-speed rail) was extended in 2015 and part of Shin-etsu Main Line was taken over by Echigo Tokimeki Railway, JR East resold ten units of the E127-0 series to the Railway. Two units remained in Niigata until 2022 and used mostly on Yahiko Line.

In addition, 12 units were introduced to southern Nagano Prefecture (variant 100). The E127-100 series trains have been serving the area since 1998.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

JR East owns both variants. Two E127-0 units are used on Nambu Line between Shitte and Hamakawasaki (Hamakawasaki branch line). Twelve E127-100 units are used on Chuo Main Line (Kobuchizawa - Shiojiri, Shiojiri - Okaya via Tatsuno), Oito Line (from Minami-Otari to the south), Shinonoi and Shin-etsu Main Lines (Matsumoto - Nagano).

Echigo Tokimeki Railway uses ten E127-0 units between Myoko-Kogen and Naoetsu, and through-services towards Nagaoka on JR Shin-etsu Main Line.


E127-0 series was initially used in Niigata area.

The E127 series on Oito Line (Nagano Prefecture).

(Updated: 31 Mar 2024)

←The List of JR Trains