The Red List of Trains in Japan

E7 and W7 series Bullet Train

Data (as of 31 Mar 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 2013-23
Number built: 852
Registered: 732


The E7 and W7 series were developed by JR East and JR West as the first bullet train for Hokuriku Shinkansen. Each unit consists of 12 coaches, and powerful motors allow the train to climb the steep gradients in Nagano Prefecture ("Usui Pass"). However, the maximum speed is just 260 km/h (162 mph).

The E7 series unit entered Asama (Tokyo - Nagano) services in 2014, replacing some E2 series. JR West started using the W7 series when Hokuriku Shinkansen was opened in 2015. JR East introduced more E7 series to Joetsu Shinkansen in 2017, to replace E4 series MAX.

However, eight E7 series units and two W7 series units were scrapped in 2019 as they were inundated by severe floods caused by Typhoon Hagibis. Therefore, JR East and West had to cancel some trains while new trains were being constructed. The Typhoon affected JR East's long-term plan, including the withdrawal of the E4 series.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

The E7 and W7 series are used for Kagayaki (Tokyo - Tsuruga, fast), Hakutaka (Tokyo - Tsuruga, semi-fast), Tsurugi (Toyama - Tsuruga) and Asama (Tokyo - Nagano) services on Hokuriku Shinkansen. In addition, the E7 series is also used for Toki (Tokyo - Niigata, fast) and Tanigawa (Tokyo - Echigo-Yuzawa, stopping) services on Joetsu Shinkansen.

JR East has also studying fully-automatic operation of high-speed rail using the E7 series.

(Updated: 31 Mar 2024)

←The List of JR Trains