The Red List of Trains in Japan

E6 series Bullet Train

Data (as of 6 Jul 2024)

Status:  Least Concern 
Constructed in: 2010-14
Number built: 168
Registered: 161


The E6 series is the latest bullet train developed by JR East. It is the third "mini-Shinkansen" type (compatible also with non-high-speed rail) and was introduced to Akita Shinkansen, replacing E3 series. The E6 series is optimised for running with E5 series as both series can run at up to 320 km/h (200 mph).

The E6 series is based on the E5 series. Each fleet is formed of seven coaches including one Green Car (first class) coach, but there is no Gran Class (even more luxurious first class) coach. There are accessible toilets and luggage spaces for those with large suitcases.

The series entered into service in 2013. In the first year, services provided by E5+E6 series were called Super Komachi, emphasising that they were faster and more comfortable than older rolling stock. The maximum speed was initially restricted to 300 km/h (186 mph), but raised to 320 km/h (200 mph) in 2014.

Current Operations & Future Prospects

The E6 series is mostly used for Komachi (Tokyo - Akita), with limited services on other trains such as Nasuno (Tokyo - Nasushiobara, all-stations) and Yamabiko (Tokyo - Sendai, semi-fast). In most cases, services running Tohoku Shinkansen (i.e. Tokyo - Morioka) are formed of 17 coaches with the E5 series.

(Updated: 6 Jul 2024)

←The List of JR Trains